A broken heart is not a broken world.

Break ups are almost always messy and upsetting and heart breaks that come from it are terrible. But, what upsets me more is how some people react to them. Don’t get me wrong, listening to Taylor Swift while binging on chocolates is completely acceptable after a break up (it’s actually somewhat expected) but if you’ve only been dating for the length of Kim Kardashian and Chris Humphries’ marriage, let alone know each other for a few months, there are a few things I’d like you to know.

Firstly, heart breaks are the best lesson we can teach ourselves. Last year, I had my heart broken and although it was my own stupidity that broke it, it did not soften the hurt. Looking back now, I know what not to do and I have learnt how to appreciate love (when I do find it again).

Secondly, keep it off Facebook. There is nothing worse or more awkward (or entertaining actually) than seeing girls bad mouth their exes on social media. It’s unclassy and says more about you than it does about them.

Lastly, you were breathing before you met each other and trust me, you can continue to do so after you break up. One of my favourite quotes, although harsh, sums it all up.

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost

Some of my closest friends have recently came out of long term relationships. They were broken but, although it took months, they healed. It is possible. Quieten down your inner Cher, there is love after love.

Leave a Reply

