Habit Forming.

A few weeks ago, Cape Town was hit with the worst storm we’ve had in 30 years. As a result of this, the days leading up to the storm were met with Facebook statuses and WhatsApp messages relaying information for how to prepare for the storm to come. The Monday before the storm, I found myself taking in the last bit of sunshine and warm weather while I thought of all the ways to protect my house and myself during this storm. Why?

Levi Lusko wrote in his book Swipe Right “you don’t have to be afraid of what you’re prepared for”. This was exactly it.

This year, I’ve found myself in a season where I’ve been prompted to obedience. This has resulted in my beginning to tithe monthly, exercise daily and start everyday off with reading a chapter in Psalms. Truth be told, this blissful season I’m in has been slightly boring due to the lack of drama and storms. I’ve struggled get into the habit of eating healthy, taking care of myself or praying daily because I was so comfortable.

While driving in bumper to bumper traffic, I was listening to a podcast by Levi Lusko (can you tell I’m a fan?). It was titled “The Shepherd of my Good Days” and in it he said you don’t learn the voice of your shepherd in the chaos, you learn it in the calm (paraphrasing). Although he was referring to God in this quote, this proves to be true in every sphere of life.

You shouldn’t have to learn how to budget when your drowning in debt, you shouldn’t pick up healthy eating habits after bad reports from the doctor. Simply put, summer bodies are made in winter. Prepare for the storm you’re not yet in.

This has been a challenge for me. I have had to find discipline in my fitness routines to prepare for my brothers wedding in December, I’ve had to learn to seek God where I don’t desperately need to see Him and, probably most challenging, I’ve had to start budgeting and being smart with my money while I’m still fully dependent on my parents.

The habits you form in the light will carry you through the dark. But you need to choose to form them when you don’t need them.

Leave a Reply

