2015. The Year of the Pancake

If I’m being totally honest, I am quite possibly the biggest hypocrite I know. I’m constantly telling my friends to be brave, take risks and do something that scares them. I, on the other hand, always play it safe. Over the years I’ve convinced myself that my comfort zone is big enough to never adventure out of. I’d go bungee jumping or shark cage diving in a heartbeat and scary movies don’t give me nightmares but my stubbornness kicks in when it comes to trying new foods, going to social events on my ace or commitment (cliché right?).

See, to me, the latter has never been a big enough issue to deal with until I ate a pancake. Now, if you don’t know me, I’ll put this into context for you. When I was younger, my mom would make pancakes every weekend. To most people, this was the dream but to me it was nauseating. Everything from the smell to the taste of a pancake made me sick, so for more than 10 years I had never eaten a pancake until last week. The strangest thing was, I actually didn’t mind it. I still didn’t think it was that great but I didn’t  feel sick. SO this got me thinking, the reason I stopped eating pancakes was because of one past event that had changed my future completely. And then it hit me. I am brave and courageous when it comes to trying new things but one bad experience and I shut it out forever.

I hate going to places alone because I was a bit of an outcast in primary school. I don’t like new foods because one time I tried a pizza that didn’t have bacon, avo and feta and I hated it. I’m scared of commitment because I was rejected one time.  This list could go on for pages but I won’t bore you with that.

I don’t do new years resolutions but rather yearly goals. So in 2015, I’ve set my goal as this: To live everyday as if it was my first day. It’s my adaptation to the Carpe Diem or YOLO approach on life. Think about it this way, if you could taste your favourite food for the first time, or read your favourite book for the first time, how awesome would that be! Now imagine falling in love for the second time as if it were the first time. That’s my goal this year; to let go of all the hurt and negativity I’ve ever experienced and carry on with life. After all, life’s too short not to have a (hypothetical) pancake or 2

Published by adimacmaster

I write sporadically - don't pay attention if you like consistency

Leave a comment